wordpress supreme

When I decided to take the plunge and switch this blog from blogger to wordpress, I heard the argument (actually, I read it somewhere 🙂 ) that wordpress was the porsche of blog platforms. WordPress simply offered more choices and greater customization than blogger could offer to their respective users. Of course, the wordpress.com hosted blogs have some limitations in the plugins and widgets available, but that is understandable, although the ability to add some javascript would have been extremely nice 🙂 In the process, I transfered and the anemologio blog to the same wordpress platfom.

The real power of wordpress shows when you host your own blog somewhere else, on a separate server. I tried such approach and this is the result: open words, a new blog, a testing ground for various plugins. I like the process of downloading, unpacking, activating and then customizing the plugin. What seems still difficult for me is to find where to modify the settings and create just what I want. However, I believe the results really justify the characterization of porsche. More, simply by getting involved in setting up and maintaining a blog, you get a better picture of the social and personal potential of this new platform of communication.

Keep blogging then and pay a visit to open words (and don’t forget to complete the poll).

I.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

