Risk Rating

A curious thing I noticed just a few minutes ago. The Netcraft antiphishing toolbar is a wonderful tool to use when visiting any kind of website. It rates every site and assigns a risk rating from 0 to … based on how legit or illegit that site is. Well, the toolbar is giving my yannishome site a risk rating of 7, in other words, it says it is up there with all those scam-artist sites that ask you to send some private information so you can cash in from some dead politicians/generals/bankers/officers (you name it). Curiously enough, an older site by geocities I was using got a rating of 2 (not so bad, eh?).

Has anyone else experienced something similar? Obviously the yannishome site is not important, some links about psych, writing, and a brief resume of mine, so really, no harm is done, but, … why spoil your image?

ikd


Update on Oct. 21.
I got an email (actually I got two separate emails, although, I think the second one was a semi-automatic response) from the people at necraft who suggested that the site was a new one and in due time the risk rating of 7 will decrease.

I guess if people start visiting the site, then maybe this will facilitate the process 😉
Who knows

ikd

One thought on “Risk Rating

  1. John,
    Looking at one of the older articles on YOUR blog made me think of the following articles by Bob Lewis. Generally, I find him provocative and thoughtful, and he writes very economically- his weekly newsletter is a very enjoyable read for me.

    The first article adds to Disraeli’s comment about statistics nicely. BTW, I suspect
    you may have noticed that most management and leadership books tend to be anecdotally driven. It’s one of the reasons I like Good to Great by Jim Collins- it’s so different.

    http://www.issurvivor.com/ArticlesDetail.asp?ID=534

    And the following on metrics is great.
    http://www.issurvivor.com/ArticlesDetail.asp?ID=535

Leave a Reply

